Negativity Banishing Spell

negativity banishing spell witch witchcraft pagan paganism wicca wiccan magic magick

It’s been a while since I’ve given y’all a post, huh?

I’m sorry about that. The truth is, I’ve been working on this big new project for the shop (which I am SO excited about), and it’s been eating up most of my time. But the good news about that is I’m nearly done! Keep your eyes peeled for a new blog post about that the first week of June.

But until then, I thought it’d be a good idea to not only check in with my blog folks (as I’ve still been in contact with everyone subscribed to the newsletter, obviously), and tell y’all about one of my favorite spells ever.

Hitting the Energetic Re-Set Button

Have you ever felt stuck in a funk? And not the fun, groovy Funkadelic sort of funk. I’m talking about that “everything around me feels heavy and vaguely shitty” kind of funk. Of course you have–you’re a human being, after all.

These kinds of funks can happen for a variety of reasons. If you’re like me (aka, someone with depression), this can happen to you frequently. These funks can rear their ugly heads either moving into or coming out of yet another cyclical bout of depression. Or perhaps you’ve had a run of bad luck recently–it’s hard to keep your energy up when it seems like everything around you is going wrong. Maybe you’ve had a bad break up. Or have been fired or forced to quit a terrible job. Maybe it just isn’t your day, or week, or month.

Like I said–funks can happen for a number of reasons.

So what can we do about this?

Well, a lot, actually.

This would normally be the part where I’d give you a list of mundane things you can start changing in an effort to lessen these types of negativity-breeding problems in the future. And then probably devote a whole blog post to giving you questions to ask yourself in order for you to figure some shit out. Or just make a free workbook that serves that same purpose.

But I thought instead, that we’d do things the fun way for once.

Zee’s Negativity Banishing Spell

This is perhaps the best spell I’ve ever come up with. It’s most certainly my most favorite spell. I don’t use it that often. As a matter of fact, I think I’ve only used this spell four or five times since I came up with it a few years back. I prefer to use it sparingly because as much as we may hate negative emotions and ‘vibes’, etc, I believe them to be necessary to my growth as a person. But, like, you do you.

One last note on this spell: I normally treat my witchcraft the way I treat cooking dinner–I have an idea of what I’m going to make, but I don’t follow a recipe. A handful of this, a dash of that. I basically just wing it. Which is why you rarely get any spells from me, and why my friends rarely get any recipes from me. Because I never write any of this shit down due to my winging it. But this spell is so fantastic (in my opinion) that I had to write it down. The first time I preformed it, I felt as though I was living Maggot Brain* (made it come full circle there :P).

So let’s get into it.

Supplies needed:

1 black stick candle
3 black tea lights
A pinch of sage
A small palm full of blackberry tea (the contents of one tea bag)
A small palm full of black lava salt (or black witch’s salt)
1/2 small palm full of black mustard seeds
A sharp tool
A plate (or something else to put everything on)

Take your stick candle and your sharp tool, and use the tool to carve a symbol of protection** into your candle while focusing on your intention to banish negativity.

Stick your candle to your plate (I use melted wax for this).***

Place your tea lights around the base of your stick candle–on the plate–in a point-side-down triangle formation.

Sprinkle your herbs and salt on and around the candles.

If you feel the need to say some words aloud, do so now. Example:

“As the candles disappear,
So does the negativity around me.”

Light the candles and allow them to burn down. ****

Dispose of any leftover spell components in whatever way feels right to you.

And that’s it! You’re now free to enjoy the lack of excess negativity around you.

I would suggest at the very least, doing a quick cleansing after this. If you want to up the ante after the cleansing, I’d suggest doing a working that will fill up all the space that negativity was filling–something for abundance or peace, etc.

What do you think of this spell? Are you planning on trying it? What’s your favorite spell? Let me know in the comments–I love hearing from y’all.

xo Zee

 

*The legend behind the song Maggot Brain is that George Clinton told guitarist Eddie Hazel to pretend as though his mother was dead, and then halfway through the song, pretend as though he’s found out she’s actually alive. You can really feel as well as hear that energetic shift in the music. Also, obviously it is also alleged that Clinton was on LSD at the time.
**Can’t think of a protection symbol? Google has got your back. None of them speak to you? You could try what I do: I carve a spiral going around the candle, all the way down to the base–like water going down a drain.
***Please do not leave any candles burning without supervision. Especially when you’ve just attempted to stick the damn thing to a plate with some wax, as though that’s at all safe.
****If your candle(s) burn out before all the wax has melted, that’s fine–it just means the spell is done. Congrats.
Leave a Reply

