Self Care 101

self-care-self-love-self-improvement-new-age-witchcraft-wicca-paganism

I talk a lot about self care both in casual conversation and across my different social media platforms. I encourage friends and family members to work on their self care practice, and I even hosted an e-course last year, detailing how to begin the process of self care. But I don’t think I’ve ever really gone into much detail on the blog about self care. So let’s rectify that right now.

What is Self Care?

Self care is exactly what it sounds like. It is care you provide for yourself, to yourself.

Self care is asking yourself what it is you need, and then providing yourself that thing.

what-is-self-care-2

Okay, Zee, Could You Be More Specific, Please?

Okay, I get it. I remember when I first encountered the idea of self care, I was also really confused about what exactly that was supposed to mean–what all that term entailed.

The most important thing to remember about self care is that it will change not only from person to person, but your personal self care practice may change from day to day depending on what your needs at any given moment may be.

On Tuesday, your act of self care could be taking a jog around your neighborhood. On Thursday, it could be cuddling under a pile of blankets while watching a favorite movie from your childhood.

Specific needs may change, but that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t also consider having a set self care routine in place for daily use.

Which brings us to…

The Daily Self Care Routine

Maybe a morning self care routine is something you’d be interested in. Then the S.A.V.E.R.S. Miracle Morning might be for you! Or, if you’re like me and aren’t exactly a morning person, you can opt for a nightly routine. For mine, I like to do a little reading, and apply body lotion and lip balm.

Fine, But Why is Self Care Important?

Friends, family, support systems–they’re all important. That being said, we cannot always rely on love, validation, and care to come from outside sources. Starting your self care routine is a way to show up for yourself and tell yourself you matter enough to care about.

This is especially important if you have the habit of putting others before yourself. If you constantly find that you’re putting yourself on the back burner, self care will be a great way for you to recharge your batteries by getting what it is you need.

I have also found, in my personal life, that it has allowed me to be more honest with my loved ones about my emotional needs.

Planning on starting a self care routine? Already have one in place? Still confused about self care? Hit me up in the comments below and let me know! You know I love to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

