Deprogramming: Affirmations

Deprogramming_(1)

So, if you’re like me, you’ve spent most of your life thinking affirmations are stupid and pointless.

Blunt, I know, but I also know that I can’t be alone in that. I really did not see the point of them. I saw people who were affirmation-happy as not really doing or accomplishing anything. I viewed them basically as a new-age-y placebos.

And then 2016 happened.

I don’t know what it is about this year. 2016 for me has been the year of The Hanged Man. I’ve been going back on so many of my “I will never!”s. Not things centered in morality, just things I either never connected with or found value in.

I decided to give gems/crystals a shot. I’m writing my own affirmations. The world is upside down.

affirm1

So…why?

Because neuroplasticity is a thing. Neural pathways exist and you can essentially rewire them. This article explains the process pretty well. And affirmations are a tool you can use in tandem with this process.

So if you’re still with me, let’s start writing affirmations designed to resonate on a personal level.

affirm2

Affirmations That Don’t Suck

Since this is The Summer of Self-Love, we’re going to be focusing on trying to heal some of the shitty things we’ve been told about ourselves, or tell ourselves (or both).

Here’s the process:

01. Figure out what needs healed. What’s bothering you? This could be anything from hating something about your body, to having a fear of failure. What lie are you repeating to yourself?

02. Write the opposite of that belief–that lie.

As a quick aside, this affirmation, when you first start repeating it, will feel like a lie. You’ve told yourself some bullshit (“I’m ugly”, “I’m not good enough”, “I am doomed to fail and so I shouldn’t try at all”, etc) for so long, your brain reads it as a truth. Rewiring doesn’t happen over night. Stick with it!

Now that we’ve got that out of the way, let’s talk about actually writing these things down.

The “Calm breath, open heart, conquer world” quote above won’t resonate with all of you reading this. Others will be so touched by it, they may adopt it as an affirmation they repeat to themselves every morning.

Which is why the most important tool you can utilize in your affirmation writing is language that is powerful to you. Use slang. Use curse words. Verbs. Whatever makes something inside of you awaken with a start. Whatever that looks–or sounds, rather–like for you, use it!

(BONUS: Have a line from a song that excites your soul? Use that, too!)

affirm3

03. Write 3-5 of these affirmations to start.

04. Recite them on the regular. Try reciting one once a day to start. Then the second. Etc. Play around with it. Say it until you don’t sound suspicious of yourself as you’re saying it. Write them down and post them where you’ll see them throughout the day.

Have you tried affirmations before? Still think they’re stupid? Want to share your favorite affirmation? Drop me a comment and let me know!

 

 

selfcare4spiritworkers-banner


Related Reading:

Deprogramming; Money Mayhem

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

