On Urban Witchcraft & Hot Pockets

Urban Witchcraft

I tell ya, I am just the best at titling blog posts.

“Urban Witchcraft & Hot Pockets” is the boiled down version of the topics covered here. Because I thought “Human Hubris & Spiritual Diets” sounded too boring.

This is gonna be a short one, so let’s hop right into it:

On Urban Witchcraft

Travel back in time with me for a moment, would you? The year is year is 2004 and I’m a baby pagan/witch living in Eastern Kentucky. My spiritual and craft practices consist of me taking walks through the woods surrounding my house, sometimes up to the very old cemetery on the hill behind my house (seriously, where I lived in high school was prime witching location, in the most stereotypical sense). I would burn cinnamon from the pantry as my only incense (that smell still screams witchcraft to me), and sneak out of my room at night to commune with nature and summon things while surrounded by it.

Add that to the fact that most of the books I was working with where standard issue Llewellyn books, and it’s no surprise that much of what I was exposed to and absorbed in regards to what witchcraft and paganism is and how it’s done was very, very nature based.

So it’s no wonder the concept of urban witchcraft threw me for a loop when I first heard of it. How can you witch without nature?! I didn’t give it much thought because I didn’t live in a big city. Even after my family and I moved back to Florida from Kentucky, I opted not to research it or even really think about it because while we were no longer living in the woods, we weren’t in a big city. So fuck it, right?

Cut to now, when I’ll be moving (at some point) to a city. I’ve had to think about how to pagan and how to witch in the middle of a concrete jungle a lot more lately.

And it’s not that I’m unwilling to do the whole pagan-witch thing sans nature. It’s just that it can be really hard to reframe something when you’ve always viewed it (for whatever reason) in a certain way.

But then I figured it out.

Humans are a part of nature. We are nature. And so the things we build are a part of nature. Furthermore, nature itself doesn’t draw any real distinctions between “city/man made” and “the natural world”. Rain falls wherever it wants. Hurricanes don’t give a damn about cities vs rural areas. The sun rises over skyscrapers and warms concrete. When we encroach on nature, nature encroaches on us.ย  Weeds grow in the cracks of sidewalks. Crows use us to do their dirty work for them.

If nature doesn’t draw any distinctions between us/them, why should we? I have the sneaking suspicion that it’s because humans don’t like to think of ourselves as animals, but we are.

The more I think about it, the more it seems the boundaries we place between natural and man made are the only things truly unnatural about this whole situation.

Speaking of unnatural…

On Hot Pockets

I mentioned in the Welcome Kit that I eat Hot Pockets. On purpose. Though not always by choice.

Don’t worry. I’m not being held hostage in my own home by some poltergeist that grows in power by forcing me to make poor dietary choices.

I just have depression.

Depression that manifests in a way that makes it hard for me to remember to eat and steals a lot of my energy.

So this is a reminder to all you spiritual spoonies out there: You are not somehow spiritually lesser than because you don’t always have the resources (money/time/energy/motivation/etc) to eat wholesome foods. You’re not a bad witch or pagan because you don’t always eat organic or vegan or raw or whatever.

Life is full of ebbs and flows. Sometimes you have what you need to thrive. Sometimes you have what you need to survive. And that is alright. That’s more than alright. You have every right to do what you must to survive. What might be “shitty food” is better than no food.

You’re still a being of star dust and divine light and no one can take that away from you.

Take care of yourself in anyway you can.

Save

2 thoughts on “On Urban Witchcraft & Hot Pockets

  1. Dana Marie says:

    This post speaks to my SOUL (on both an urban witchcraft AND a hot pockets level.) I’m a broke witch living in a city apartment and it’s real hard to feel like those witchy babes on Instagram who are always eating fresh veggies grown in their backyard garden or whatever. Maybe someday that’ll be me, but for now I don’t need anyone telling me I’m less spiritual or witchy because I can’t afford to eat organic (or even things that don’t come from the freezer, really.) I think there’s WAY too much emphasis on being “pure” and not enough acknowledgement that we’re all human and my practice doesn’t have to be a vegan paradise for it to work for me. To each their own, but let’s not judge or put others down for how they get by!

    Like

    • hexcellencetarot says:

      I am so glad this post spoke to you. That was my ultimate goal–these are things I have to constantly remind myself, and so I knew there had to be more people out there like me, who can sometimes feel shitty for needing (or hell, even wanting!) frozen foods. Or for not living in ‘nature’, or being able to get their asses down to the nearest park for the Sabbats or whatever.

      We’re witches, goddamn it. What happened to the rebellion? What happened to doing things your own way because the typical doesn’t allow enough space for your world view? I don’t know. Humans are social creatures who like to know we’re doing things “right”. And sometimes “right” is defined by “popular”. It’s an understandable impulse, but one that can ultimately be detrimental.

      I could not agree more–we all really need to keep in mind that we’re all just human. For some reason, this Grant Morrison quote keeps popping into my head:

      “Banishing reminds you that no matter how many gods you talk to, no matter how many fluorescent realms you visit, you still have to come home, take a shit, be able to cook dinner,water the plants and, most importantly, talk to people without scaring them”

      Yeah. We’re witches. Yeah, we’re spiritual beings. But we still gotta take a shit. Let’s drop the judgments.

      (Funnily enough, I’ve been following you on various social media platforms for a few months, and my view of you was/is very much that you’re a “witchy babe on Instagram”–at least to me. So know that whatever peace and/or comfort you got from this post has been returned to me, just knowing that someone whose path/business I am inspired by struggles with some of the same things I do.)

      Like

Leave a Reply

