My Favorite Magick Book

When I first started buying books on magic and witchcraft, I looked for texts which included tons of exercises, spells, and rituals. I tend to learn from doing. So I would read, try, tweak, try again.

The results were mixed, to say the least. I read a lot of books that were lackluster. I read a lot of books that were just plain shit. I read even more books that just rehashed the same basic information again and again.

Something had to change.

Which is when I got my grubby little hands on a copy of this bad boy:

41w5cw5nz0l-_sx331_bo1204203200_

This book contains zero exercises, spells, or rituals. It’s written by a man with a long history in systems I have little interest in. And yet I found it to be a wellspring of knowledge.

Duquette (whether accidentally or on purpose) teaches not through step-by-step ritual outlines or magickal correspondences, but through story. Seriously funny and engaging stories, to be exact.

During the course of the book, we’re treated to tales of a Shakespeare influenced curse reversal, how an experimentation with invocation caused him to act like both an asshole and a whole ass, a two man exorcism, an impromptu working preformed on the tarot deck he created, and astral travel fueled by quiche. And that’s just to name a few stories off the top of my head.

I walked away from this book with fresh ideas on how to switch my own shit up and a renewed vigor for my own spiritual and magical practices. Which was not something I’d ever felt after reading a how-to, like A Guide for the Solitary Practitioner, for example.

I hesitate to say much more about the book, honestly, because I feel as though it’s one of those where potentially everyone can walk away with something unique and fulfilling from it. And I wouldn’t wish to get my own stank on that, y’know?

You can purchase your own copy here. If you have read it, or end up reading it later because of my recommendation, drop me a comment and let me know your thoughts on it!

As always,

Zee

Leave a Reply

